Fairy tale art

PRINCESSES, TOWERS AND TISSUE PAPER ON A GREY NOVEMBER DAY

On Saturday it was cold and grey out and my daughters wanted to stay in a play and relax until it was time to go out to the fireworks display with their grandparents. While I was looking for something else I came across a second-hand copy of the Usborne Fairy tale things to make and do. I had picked it up in a charity shop for 50p ages ago but had never had the chance to get it out to look at with the children. I handed it over to my elder daughter and soon she was well away. It is full of easy art ideas that children can do or adapt as they wish.

imag2026_1

My daughter made a fairytale castle collage with tissue paper and a princess lying in her bed of mattresses atop the single pea. After a while my other daughter drifted over and had soon designed a bedroom for Cinderella’s step-sister (only in her version the step-sister isn’t a ‘baddie’, apparently) and drawn a picture of a prince and princess. While I tend to cringe away from the pink-obsessed princess-as-career Disney stuff, I love fairy tales and this book was a perfect thing with which to while away a November afternoon.

imag2027_1

 

Leave a Reply

